OKCupid Holding Back on You?

OkCupid….

Have you heard of it? Their tag line is “the best free dating site on Earth.”

Because this site is primarily free (unless you want to upgrade options), easy to use and is mobile…once again…you can find anything you’re looking for. If it’s casual dating to long-term…or even a Christian Grey type…it’s there. Profile pics range from:

  • men in sunglasses (Dislike!)
  • Regular people doing regular things (Like!)
  • shirtless torsos (Dislike!)
  • bodies without heads (think “I don’t want you to see my face because I’m a secret agent…or secretly dating while committed to someone else) (Triple Dislike!!!)
  • even someone wearing a mask….(Dislike by freaking me out!)

 

I’ve used it periodically…and have a tendency to “hide” my profile because it gets too dang crazy…the constant emails can make a normal person’s head spin. But, it’s hard to meet people, organically…”hey cutie in Produce section at Wholefoods…let me hold your bag of apples while you take down my number…” (I’m thinking that’s not going to work so well).

Here’s my question though. When you sign up for something, you expect to get what you THINK you’re getting. Access to everyone that you may match with…right? WRONG. Check out this email I received….

photo (2)

Hmmm, I sort of feel like I’ve been missing out. On what? I’m not entirely sure. However, I feel like I was intentionally “held back” until I reached a certain status and then, poof! I’m now in the elite of cupids and arrows… floating around like some goddess…(that’s tripping over some very odd members). Is this fair? To be kept in the dark of interweb dating until you’ve proven you can hang with the best?

I don’t think it’s fair. Not one bit.

2 thoughts on “OKCupid Holding Back on You?

  1. Wow! I’ve heard that dating sites will put you earlier on in the search list if your profile becomes more popular, but this is a whole new crazy. I had NO idea they withheld attractive people until you’ve “proven” that you’re attractive. Sure, maybe it makes sense on a truly superficial level, but we already feel like we’re being judged and evaluated by other members, we don’t need to be judged by the dating site too!

  2. Hi there! You are totally right. Superficial or not…who knew you had to prove yourself. It may be a “selling point” to some people…knowing that they have special status…but I just think it goes way beyond good business practice. Be authentic with your members. Help them succeed! Don’t intentionally hold them back…

    Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment